MAD ONE Media
Mad One Media
Downtown
1
0:00
-1:38

Downtown

Being a local, every place is packed with memory
1

First, Thank You to my readers and subscribers. This work continues with your support of Creativity as Practice for Mental Health. This is an offering for all, Consider Subscribing below.

Coming Back to San Francisco for my residency with Intersection for the Arts, I had a daily writing practice. Every day over the Six months I was there I recounted the location I was in as a prompt for past experiences. These momentos could be a snapshot of how a place affects memory.

One snapshot example of a “location-based narrative” told by a local artist, contently in a museum of his own life.

(Press Play for the Audio Recorded at Intersection: 1446 Market., SF)

DOWNTOWN

I’m back here again,

this time more stable

Remembering coming down here when I was looking for all the wrong reasons

All my theft and treachery.

I was a drinking, smoking, street kid with an oversized backpack and nowhere to go

Now my backpack is tastefully small.

I don’t have to use the public computer at the wellness center

I bring my laptop

I don’t ride BART for free,

I drive a car that I own and pay for parking

It’s been six years since I used to come here,

but I’ve changed. I shave now and get a haircut

I’m medicated and under control.

Less wild, formulating a career plan.

The wellness center I used to go to is on 9th,

now I’m a resident artist at a space on 11th.

On my first day back I ran into the guy who used to run the wellness center,

we recognized each other.

He said, “You’re looking good.”

It struck me, how I used to present;

flipped up cap and wild eyes, sleeping in bus stops and in people’s garages

I sleep on a luxury mattress now, in my own place.

I don’t have to struggle like six years ago.

My life is calm and full of meaningful friendships.

I’m so much more balanced than I used to be.

I was a recluse.

I can tell you some stories of how I used to be

But now I’m on the come up,

recalibrating how many years I have left

Taking my time, and playing the long game

Instead of burnout.

Thank You for reading, listening, and supporting this journey. One Step at a Time.

This is the bonus stanza, cut from the audio. Makes a good wrap-up moment. I include it because I mean every word.

I used to go to groups at the wellness center

now I’m thinking of running my own,

for artists who want to build something

and collaborate with other like-minded people who want to make something of this town.

I would like to build,

rather than destroy.

I am ready to grow into the next thing,

One page at a time

1 Comment
MAD ONE Media
Mad One Media
A platform for a variety of different shows, incorporating the arts, and mental health. Current shows include Hip Hop Haggadah and The Power of Music.