MAD ONE Media
Mad One Media
The Soft Sweets of Moss Streets
1
0:00
-2:31

The Soft Sweets of Moss Streets

It's hard being from somewhere soft -because you don't want to leave.
1

Hosting Friends with Families who have come to visit me in Moss Beach. I made it down the steps to show a couple of young nephs the tide pools. Sharing my parents with the families that have me as an honorary Uncle to their children is a sweet appreciation for all the love I’ve received and the beautiful place I am from.

The SOFTest Streets of MOSS Sweets 

Welcome to the MOSS 

The epic seaside

Cliff and shoreline

Fetched with Cypress Trees 

Tide pools with sea creatures

Cumulus Clouds 

Massive Pacific Waves

Crashing 

Come with your children

My parents will enjoy them 

Auntie Gail reads to them

The very last of my kids books

Uncle Harry goes in for the high five

He’s right on their level 

My Folks are naturals at being grandparents

For a day  

The smooth dinner jazz plays in the background

Jobim and Gilberto

Mid-60s Bossa Nova is the easy elevator flavor of the Moss Couch

Sink in and let the cushions overwhelm your comfort

Let Baby Boomer stories of how it used to be

Lull you with a gentle nassel 

Dine on smoked steelhead

And eat cakes flown in from overseas 

The rolling hills are majestic and the sky is glowing

How much beauty can a place hold?

A rural enclave in an urban area,

Tucked away in the small south sea

Artichokes and Brussels line the seaside crops

Birds of many varieties take you to sonic merriment 

The crash of the ocean waves 

Fresh Salty Air

Returning to the origin

Of our birthplace

We dragged ourselves out of the seas to become human

I must drag myself out of here to evolve 

Even though I could be a fish on the couch forever

I’ve been leaning into my struggles, on this one I’m leaning into my blessings. Thanks for coming by…

1 Comment
MAD ONE Media
Mad One Media
A platform for a variety of different shows, incorporating the arts, and mental health. Current shows include Hip Hop Haggadah and The Power of Music.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Joshua Walters